First National Meeting of Asset Management ‘Communities of Practice’

Back left to right: Damien Burns, Doug Cutts, Guy Félio, Alan Korell, Bradley Leeman, Daisy Foster, Sam Sidawi, Joel Sanchez, Brian Bedford, Mike Hauser, Curtis Ching

Middle left to right: Tjaart Van den Berg, Duane Nicole, Melissa Osborne, Shelley Hassard, Janet Bradshaw, George Tomporowski, Joanne Loy, Elena Loukin, Gordon Sparks and Glen Brown

Front left to right: Wally Wells, Sarah Russo, Marie-Élaine Desbiens, Todd Latham, Catherine Lavoie, Leanne Brannigan


In an Edmonton hotel from Sept. 12-15, 2017, twenty-seven government leaders, association representatives and organizers from eleven provincial and territorial asset management “Communities of Practice” (CoP) gathered officially for the first time. Each of the eleven CoPs are structured to meet regional needs related to public infrastructure asset management and created to provide for knowledge transfer and information sharing specific to their respective communities and constituents. Facilitated by an offering of the Municipal Asset Management Program (MAMP) which is delivered by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities and funded by the Government of Canada, the national workshop was designed to pave the way toward a collaborative framework among the various organizations. The three-day meeting was facilitated by Guy Felio (aka, Dr. Infrastructure) and explored ways to share information and assist each other across Canada while continuing to deliver asset management services to our communities. Having regionalized communities of practice recognizes the differences in the size, physical location, function and legislative realities within each jurisdiction so the discussions focused on ways to collaborate and share resources, tools and best practices that would not just help advance asset management practice locally, but also provide a national, harmonized voice.